Propeller Club of Los Angeles-Long Beach High School Scholarship Program

Scholarship Overview

The Propeller Club of Los Angeles-Long Beach is offering scholarships ranging from $250 to $1,000 to graduating high school seniors. In 2019, the Board of Governors established two additional scholarships in memory of David Arian and Adam Birkenbach awarding $1,000 each.

The 2021 Scholarship application is OPEN! Click here to submit your application. Deadline: July 30, 2021.

Scholarship Qualifications

This scholarship is open to high school seniors currently attending schools located in the cities of Long Beach, Lakewood, San Pedro, Wilmington, or Carson and demonstrating deserving academic records, outstanding citizenship and school and community service.


References: Please provide two letters of reference; one from a teacher or counselor and one from an adult who is familiar with your schoolwork and activities that should be considered in reviewing eligibility for scholarships. Do not include relatives or fellow students. The letter of reference does not have to be specific to this scholarship.

Scholarship Committee

Co-Chair: Sue Dvonch
Co-Chair: Mechelle Smothers
Jessica Alvarenga
Robert Crowder
Janeé Ortiz

Application Process

The application must be completed in full. In addition, the following questions shall be answered on a separate sheet:

1) Attach a 500 word, typed essay answering ONE of the following questions below (A or B):

A. What do you see as the biggest challenges for the continued growth and success of the Ports of Los Angeles and Long Beach, and what suggestions do you have for the Ports to overcome those challenges?

B. Tell us about a social issue that you are passionate about and any ideas you have for helping solve problems related to it, i.e. the environment, politics, homelessness, poverty, education, etc.

2) Please list your most important school activities, community service and work experience. If you prefer to provide a resume, you are welcome to do so.

3) Please attach a copy of your unofficial high school transcripts to support your reported GPA.

4) Are there any other factors the Selection Committee should consider (i.e. family ties to the maritime industry, first generation college student, etc.)?

Past Scholarship Recipients

2020 Winners

Ronald Wicks, Dr. Richard A Vladovic Harbor Teacher Preparation Academy – Adam Birkenbach Scholarship of $1,000
Thessa Malauulu
, St. Anthony High School – David Arian Scholarship of $1,000

Clark Boyce, Long Beach Polytechnic High School
Laura Yontz, Long Beach Polytechnic High School

2019 Winners

Itohan Ero, CA Academy of Math/Science – Adam Birkenbach Scholarship of $1,000
Evelyn Zandejas, POLA HS – Commissioner David Arian Scholarship of $1,000
Gerard Legaspi, SATO Academy
Kendall Dimson, POLA HS

2018 Winners

Ethan Horvath – Millikan High School (Thank You Letter)
Francis DeGuzman – Cabrillo High School
Joy Rowden – California State University, Long Beach
Timothy Oloimooja – Port of Los Angeles High School

2017 Winners

Hunter Bjazevich – Mary Star of the Sea High School
Guadalupe Del Cid – Port of Los Angeles High School
Arturo Hernandez – Phineas Banning High School
Daisy Loera – Banning Academies of Creative and Innovative Sciences High School